Infertility

Pill popping

I did some scouring online at the end of last week and came across this book on amazon, ‘8 Steps to Reverse Your PCOS’. It has pretty good reviews so I figured I would give it a bash. It definitely has some sound advice and recipes although it covers the many variations of PCOS so some bits weren’t totally relevant to me. One thing I did find useful was learning about Myo-Inositol. Its a vitamin you can buy on amazon and seems to be a bit of a miracle worker for some women. Even in the book there was a case study about a women who started taking it and 2 months later got pregnant. There are a bunch of good reviews about it online too, although as ever, it doesn’t work for everyone. As we won’t be doing any further fertility treatment until next year I want to give this a try and see if it helps. I’m really at the point that if someone told me that eating horse poo would work I would do it! Myo-Inositol is supposed to combat issues with insulin resistance that is believed to be the underlying cause of PCOS. I’ve not been diagnosed as having insulin resistance, but given that I don’t have thyroid or other issues according to my blood work I think this is a real probability. On advice from the book too I’ve started taking Omega-3 Fish Oil supplements.

I’ve started a low GI diet too. Today is only day 1 and I’m already missing cheese. I love cheese, and just generally the other small pleasures in life like bread. You are allowed some dairy with the low GI diet, but for PCOS its recommended to limit dairy. So it was a chicken salad for me for lunch and I’ll be having salmon and vegetables for dinner. I’m going to become one of those really boring people who only talks about what they’re eating…or not eating!! Sam has said he will ‘half’ do the diet with me. I think by Wednesday he will have caved and be tucking into a big bag of Kettle Chips. I’ve told him he needs to hold me back when I crack and want Ben and Jerry’s. I don’t know if I’ll be able to hold it up over Christmas but I’ve got 3 weeks to knuckle down and see what happens.

I’m meeting with Dr K today to find out if I can stop taking the pill now, fingers crossed, inform him of my lifestyle change and find out what he thinks we will do dosage wise for next years fertility treatments.

Leave a Reply

